2022 International Melges 24 World Council Annual General Meeting

2022 International Melges 24 World Council Annual General Meeting

Virtual meeting - Zoom platform

AGM 2022 voting results
IM24CA 2023 Goals

 

Check your timing

6 am PT, 9 am ET, 2 pm UK, 3 pm CET, 4 pm EET, 1 am (Nov 20) Sydney, AUS

AGENDA

NOTE: Please find all Agenda related documents under the relevant Tabs below the Agenda.

Session 1 
6-7 am PT / 9-10 am ET / 2-3 pm UK / 3-4 pm CET / 4-5 pm EET / 1-2 am (20 Nov) AEDT Sydney

  • Reports: marketing/communications; financial (including a vote on 2022 budget); minutes; technical/builders report 

Session 2
7-7.45 am PT / 10-10.45 am ET / 3-3.45 pm UK / 4-4.45 pm CET / 5-5.45 pm EET / 2-2.45 am (20 Nov) AEDT Sydney

  • Class reports: All National Classes are requested to send us a National Class Report as a short summary of your 2021 activities and situation no later than November 14th. Please send it to piret@melges24.com

Break 15 min

Session 3
8-9 am PT / 11-12 am ET / 4-5 pm UK / 5-6 pm CET / 6-7 pm EET / 3-4 am (20 Nov) AEDT Sydney

Session 4 
9-10 am PT / 12-1 pm ET / 5-6 pm UK / 6-7 pm CET / 7-8 pm EET / 4-5 am (20 Nov) AEDT Sydney

  • Elections of the Executive Committee - we received submissions to nominate a Chair, Vice Chair Americas, Member for North America, Member Europe
  • Annual approval of the appointment of the Technical Committee Chair
  • Nomination received to appoint Championship Coordinator for North America
  • see the information about nominees under Tab "Elections"
  • Proposed Class Rules changes (Tab "Submissions - Class Rules")

You'll find reports, submissions, proposals and documents under the Tabs below. The reports and documents will be published as soon they have been received.

Amendments and additions to the submissions

  1. Executive Committee has submitted a nomination of Kevin Nixon for a Vice Chair Asia Pacific position for a second term
  2. USA 1 - POV (Point of View) Camera - Revision 1 with Tech Comm comments
  3. USA 2 - Weed Sticks - Revision 1
  4. ITA 1 - CREW WHEN HIKING - with Tech Comm commentsWithdrawn by ITA class on Nov 16
  5. Technical Committee - 2022 Rule Change C.8.2 KEEL 2019 Cdn 2022 – Revision 6
  6. Technical Committee - 2022 Rule Change H4 Boat and Appendage Repair Approval Form – Revision 2
  7. Technical Committee - 2022 Rule Change Proposal H2 Cabin Main Halyard – Revision 2

 

2022_IM24CA-AGM_Submission_form
VotingProxyForm-Blank-2022.docx
Financial
Melges 24 Financials 2021 final 2022 est & 2023 budget AGM.pdf
Marketing & Communication
IM24CA media and communications 2022 - report
IM24CA Technical Committee Report 2022 Rev 2.pdf
Technical Committee report Melges 24 Worlds 2022.pdf
2022 Melges 24 Europeans - Event Technical Committee report

The posts open for election:

  • Chairman – Laura Grondin USA, was elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for the second term or for election
    • USA - Nomination of Laura Grondin
  • Vice-Chairman Americas - Duncan Stamper CAN, was elected in 2016, 3 year term and re-elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for election
    • USA - Nomination of Chelsea Simms
  • Vice-Chairman Asia/Pacific – Kevin Nixon AUS, was elected in 2020 EGM, 3 year term (2020-2022)  - up for the second term or for election
    • Exec Comm - Nomination of Kevin Nixon
  • Member North America - Paul Krak Arntson USA, was elected in 2016, 3 year term and re-elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for election
    • USA & CAN - Nomination of Scot Zimmerman
  • Member Europe - Michael Tarabochia GER, was elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for the second term or for election
    • Exec Comm - Nomination of Michael Tarabochia
       
  • Appointment of Technical Committee Chair 
    • Exec Comm - Nomination of Mike Gozzard
  • Appointment of Championship Coordinator for North America
    • Exec Comm - Nomination of Carol Ewing
USA - Nomination of Laura Grondin for a Chair position for the second term
Exec Comm - Nomination of Kevin Nixon for a Vice Chair Asia Pacific position for a second term
USA - Nomination of Chelsea Simms for a Vice Chair Americas position
Chelsea Simms resume
USA - Nomination of Scot Zimmerman for a Member North Americas position
CAN - Nomination of Scot Zimmerman for a Member North Americas position
Scot Zimmermann Sailing Resume.pdf
Exec Comm - Nomination of Michael Tarabochia for a Member Europe position for a second term
Exec Comm - Nomination of Mike Gozzard as a Technical Committee Chair 2023
Exec Comm - Nomination of Carol Ewing as a Championship Coordinator for North Americas

Rule Change Proposals from National Classes:

  • USA 1 - POV (Point of View) Camera - Rev 1 with Tech Comm comments
  • USA 2 - Weed Sticks - Rev 1
  • ITA 1 - CREW WHEN HIKING - with Tech Comm comments - Withdrawn by ITA class on Nov 16
  • ITA 2 - CREW INSIDE COMPANIONWAY

Rule Change Proposals from Technical Committee:

  • 2022 Rule Change C.7.1 HULL MODIFICATION, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 1
  • 2022 Rule Change C.7.2 (a)(11) USE Rev 1
  • 2022 Rule Change C.8.1 MODIFICATIONS, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 2
  • 2022 Rule Change C.8.2 KEEL 2019 Cdn Rev6  2022
  • 2022 Rule Change D.2.3 MODIFICATION, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 2
  • 2022 Rule Change E.2.2 MODIFICATIONS, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 2
  • 2022 Rule Change H4 Boat and Appendage Repair Approval Form Rev 2
  • 2022 Rule Change Proposal H2 Cabin Main Halyard Rev 2
  • 2022 Rule Change Proposal H2 Purchase Systems Bowsprit Launch Rev 1
USA_2022_IM24CA_AGM-Submission-No1-POV (Point of View) Camera_Rev1.pdf
USA_2022_IM24CA_AGM-Submission-No2-Weed Sticks_Rev1.pdf
ITA_Submission_form_IM24CA-AGM-2022_no.01-CREW WHEN HIKING_with-TC-comments.pdf
ITA_Submission_form_IM24CA-AGM-2022_no.02-CREW INSIDE COMPANIONWAY.pdf
2022 Rule Change C.7.1 HULL MODIFICATION, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 1.pdf
2022 Rule Change C.7.2 (a)(11) USE Rev 1.pdf
2022 Rule Change C.8.1 MODIFICATIONS, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 2.pdf
2022 Rule Change C.8.2 KEEL 2019 Cdn Rev 6.pdf
2022 Rule Change D.2.3 MODIFICATION, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 2.pdf
2022 Rule Change E.2.2 MODIFICATIONS, MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR Rev 2.pdf
2022 Rule Change H4 Boat and Appendage Repair Approval Form Rev 2.pdf
2022 Rule Change Proposal H2 Cabin Main Halyard Rev 2.pdf
2022 Rule Change Proposal H2 Purchase Systems Bowsprit Launch Rev 1.pdf
2024 Melges 24 Worlds - San Francisco, CA, USA - Bid - updated in 2022
2023 Melges 24 Worlds_Middelfart DEN_status report_AGM 191122_.pdf
Agenda has been sent to: 

                    Honorary Member of the World Council: Mr. Buddy Melges (via Harry Melges III)

Executive Committee
Responsibility

First Name

Surname

Participating

Proxy to/for

Chair

Laura

GRONDIN

yes for USA

Vice Chairman, Europe

Piero

ANDOLINA

yes  

Vice Chairman, Americas 

Duncan

STAMPER

yes

 

Vice Chairman, Asia Pacific & Tech Comm Member

Kevin

NIXON

yes

for AUS

Member Europe

Michael

TARABOCHIA

yes

for SUI and SLO

Member North America

Paul Krak

ARNTSON

yes

 
Treasurer Miles QUINTON yes

for UK

Technical Committee Chair

Mike

GOZZARD

yes

 

Technical Committee / Builder & Dealer / IM24CA Staff

       

Chief Measurer & Technical Advisor

Branko

PARUNOV

yes

 

Tech Comm Member Arto KIISKI

yes

 

Tech Comm Member Europe

Jan SCHMIDT yes  

Championship Coordinator - Europe

David

BARTOL

yes

 

Builder and Tech Comm Member: Melges Performance Sailboats

Harry MELGES apologies  

Dealer: Melges Europe

Luisa BAMBOZZI    

Administrator & Media Coordinator

Piret

SALMISTU

yes 

 

 

National Classes - Country

First Name

Surname

Participating

Proxy to/for

Australia

Peter KENDALL apologies to Kevin Nixon AUS

Austria

Michael

SCHINEIS

yes

 

Canada

Dan

BEREZIN

yes

 

Chile

Pablo

GALLYAS

-

 

Czech Republic

Tomas

MUSIL

-

 

Croatia Filip JURISIČ

apologies

Proxy to Ivo Matic CRO
Croatia - appointed World Council member, Mataran 24 CRO383 Ivo MATIČ yes Proxy of CRO 
Croatia - Observer, CRO Class Manager Marko MIŠURA yes  

Denmark

Soren

BLUME SVENDSEN

yes

Proxy for NOR

Estonia

Tõnu

TÕNISTE

yes

 

Finland

Tomi

HAKOLA

 

 

France

Alain

LEPRAUX

yes 

 

Germany

Michael

TARABOCHIA

yes

Proxy for SUI and SLO

Hungary

Ákos

CSOLTÓ

apologies

Proxy to Botond Weores

Hungary - appointed World Council member Botond WEORES yes Proxy for HUN

Italy

Andrea

RACCHELLI

yes

 

Japan

Kentaro

ISHIGURO

-

 

Netherlands

Ronald

VERAAR

 

 

Norway

Gisle 

BO

apologies

Proxy to Soren Blume Svendsen DEN

Slovenia

Aleš

ZUPANC

apologies

Proxy to Michael Tarabochia

Sweden

 

 

 

 

Switzerland

Michael

GOOD

apologies

Proxy to Michael Tarabochia

Ukraine

Andriy

YANO

 

 

United Kingdom

Richard

THOMPSON

apologies

Proxy to Miles Quinton UK

United States

Megan

RATLIFF

apologies

Proxy to Laura Grondin USA

The important dates to note approaching to the AGM:

Tuesday – 23 August The date of the AGM will be notified by announcement on the IM24CA website not less than 85 days before the date of the meeting.
Saturday – 1 October Motions and nominations to be proposed at the AGM shall be submitted to the International Secretary/Administrator not less than 8 weeks (56 days) before the date of the said AGM 
Saturday - 8 October The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an Agenda of all motions nominations and relevant paperwork for the AGM not later than 6 weeks before the date of the said AGM. 
Saturday – 22 October Amendments to the above motions shall be submitted no later than 4 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Saturday - 29 October The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an attachment to the Agenda of any such amendments not later than 3 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Saturday – 5 November The Secretary/Administrator must publish the voting totals by country subject to timely receipt of payment
Saturday – 12 November FINAL deadline for dues payments
Saturday – 19 November AGM 2022 – Zoom online

The Technical Committee will meet between the original submission deadline and the revised submission deadline to determine if revisions are needed to technical submissions. There may be a second meeting after the amendment submission deadline and before the AGM for further discussion. The goal of these steps is to have discussion regarding the proposals and to make drafting changes as needed in advance of the AGM.  

The first deadline for the National Classes is October 1st - Motions and nominations to be proposed at the AGM shall be submitted to the Class Administrator Piret Salmistu at piret@melges24.com not less than 8 weeks (56 days) before the date of the said AGM.

Who can submit the motions, amendments and nominations:

Motions, amendments and nominations for the AGM shall be proposed only by the Executive Committee, National Class Associations, the Technical Committee and World Sailing. If you have a proposal you wish to be considered by the AGM, you should urgently make contact with your National Class Association Officers and ask them to review your proposal and submit it on your behalf by the closing date.

Submissions can be made about:

Constitution, Future Events, Class Rules, Technical issues, Regatta Regulations, General policies, Nomination of the officers. 

The posts open for election:

  • Chairman – Laura Grondin USA, was elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for the second term or for election
  • Vice-Chairman Americas - Duncan Stamper CAN, was elected in 2016, 3 year term and re-elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for election
  • Vice-Chairman Asia/Pacific – Kevin Nixon AUS, was elected in 2020 EGM, 3 year term (2020-2022)  - up for the second term or for election
  • Member North America - Paul Krak Arntson USA, was elected in 2016, 3 year term and re-elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for election
  • Member Europe - Michael Tarabochia GER, was elected in 2019, 3 year term - up for the second term or for election

See the list of Executive Committee.

Download here the Submission Form

Bids open for the future events:

World Championships – from 2025 on (2025 is Europe, 2026 is North America and so on)
European Championships – 2024 and 2026
North American Championships –  2025 and 2027

For these NCA’s interested to bid, the bid package will be sent, but the Event Regulations are available at the IM24CA website.

If a World Council Member is unable to attend a meeting, his NCA may appoint a substitute for that meeting only. Such designations shall be in writing and received by the Treasurer/Administrator of the IM24CA prior to the meeting. Each NCA must inform the IM24CA Treasurer/Administrator of the name of their appointed World Council member or proxy substitute before the start of the AGM.

National Classes are also reminded that, as per Class Constitution, World Council representatives must be Full Members of the Melges 24 Class. 

The PROXY FORM with the fields for voting the submissions is available at the AGM 2022 website under Tab “Forms”.

 

IM24CA AGM 2022

IM24CA AGM 2022