2021 International Melges 24 World Council Annual General Meeting

2021 International Melges 24 World Council Annual General Meeting

Virtual meeting - Zoom platform

Your timing 

6 am PT, 9 am ET, 1 pm UK, 2 pm CET, 3 pm EET, 12 am (Nov 7) Sydney, AUS

AGENDA

 

Session 1 
6-7 am PT / 9-10 am ET / 1-2 pm UK / 2-3 pm CET / 3-4 pm EET / 12-1 am (7 Nov) AEDT Sydney

  • Reports: marketing/communications; financial (including a vote on 2021 budget); minutes; technical/builders report 

Session 2
7-7.45 am PT / 10-10.45 am ET / 2-2.45 pm UK / 3-3.45 pm CET / 4-4.45 pm EET / 1-1.45 am (7 Nov) AEDT Sydney

  • Class reports: All National Classes are requested to send us a National Class Report as a short summary of your 2021 activities and situation no later than November 1st. Please send it to piret@melges24.com

Break 15 min

Session 3
8-9 am PT / 11-12 am ET / 3-4 pm UK / 4-5 pm CET / 5-6 pm EET / 2-3 am (7 Nov) AEDT Sydney

  • Future events: current and proposed - World Championships – European Championships – North American Championships
    • Europeans 2021 – Portoroz, SLO – September 4-11 – report
    • Worlds 2022 – Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA - May 9-15 - current status
    • North Americans 2023 – Toronto, Canada – September - current status
    • Worlds 2023 – Denmark (2023 is 30th Anniversary Year of Melges 24 boat) - current status 
    • Europeans 2022 - bids from Balaton, Hungary and Genova, Italy

Session 4 
9-10 am PT / 12-1 pm ET / 4-5 pm UK / 5-6 pm CET / 6-7 pm EET / 3-4 am (7 Nov) AEDT Sydney

  • Elections of the Executive Committee - we received two submissions to nominate a Vice Chair Europe and no submissions to nominate a Treasurer
  • Proposed Class Rules changes
  • Proposals to amend Regatta Regulations

You'll find reports, submissions, proposals and documents under the Tabs below. The reports and documents will be published as soon they have been received.

2021 - Submission_form_IM24CA-AGM-2021.docx
2021 AGM - VotingProxyForm-Blank-2021.docx

Two posts are open for election: Treasurer and Vice Chair Europe. See the list of Executive Committee.

Message from Laura Grondin, IM24CA Chair:

"Regarding the role of Treasurer, while we did not have anyone nominated by the deadline of September 18, we do now have a nominee which will be noticed to the World Council by the deadline of the revised agenda for the AGM and we will vote on that nominee during the AGM.

Regarding the role of Member Europe, if Michael Tarabochia is the successful candidate for the role of Vice Chair Europe, there would then be a vacancy for the remainder of his term (one year) as Member Europe.  Our constitution says that “the NCA from which the departing Officer came shall nominate a replacement (who shall be an individual member of the NCA) for the remainder of the term and approval must be made by the World Council at an IM24CA EGM or AGM.”  Therefore, it would be up to the German class to propose a candidate for Member Europe;  if the German class does not have a candidate, then we would establish a process for accepting nominations for the one year position.  In either case, following the AGM, we would schedule an EGM to approve the candidate.  Please contact Laura Grondin if you have any questions about this matter."

October 16, 2021

2021 IM24CA AGM - Exec Comm_Vice_Chair_Michael_Tarabochia_IM24CA-AGM-2021.pdf
2021 IM24CA AGM - ITA_Vice_Chair_Piero_Andolina_IM24CA-AGM-2021.pdf
GBR_Exec Comm_Treasurer_Miles_Quinton_IM24CA-AGM-2021.pdf

We received a few proposals to amend IM24CA Regatta Regulations

2021 IM24CA AGM - IM24CA regatta regulations change offices.pdf
IM24CA 2021 regatta regulations PA system.pdf
IM24CA-AGM-USM24CASubmission-1-2021_Rev.1.pdf

Rule Change Proposals from Technical Committee:

  1. IM24CA Tech Comm – H1 Measurement Diagrams - Rev. 1
  2. IM24CA Tech Comm – H2 Fittings Traveller - Rev. 2
  3. IM24CA Tech Comm – H2 Fittings Backstay - Rev. 3
  4. IM24CA Tech Comm – H.3.1(a) Racing Standards - Rev. 3
  5. IM24CA Tech Comm – C.9.4(a) Boom Dimensions - Rev. 1
2021 Rule Change H1 Rev 1.pdf
2021 Rule Change H2 Traveller Rev 2.pdf
2021 Rule Change H2 Backstay Rev 3.pdf
2021 Rule Change H.3.1(a) Rev 3.pdf
2021 Rule Change C.9.4(a) Boom Dimensions Rev 1.pdf

 

 

2021 IM24CA AGM - HUN_MELGES 24 EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP 2022_bid.pdf
ITA_Genova_Melges24_Europeans_2022_proposal
ITA_Genoa_Yacht-Club-Italiano_Melges24-Europeans-2022_additional-information.pdf
The important dates to note approaching to the AGM:
Tuesday – 10 August The date of the AGM will be notified by announcement on the IM24CA website not less than 85 days before the date of the meeting.
Friday – 18 September Motions and nominations to be proposed at the AGM shall be submitted to the International Secretary/Administrator not less than 8 weeks (56 days) before the date of the said AGM – PLEASE NOTE THAT DUE TO THE EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP BEING HELD ON 9/11, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE HAS AGREED TO EXTEND THIS DEADLINE BY ONE WEEK (recognizing that this new deadline will occur during US Nats but impacts only 1 to 2 countries)
Saturday - 25 September The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an Agenda of all motions nominations and relevant paperwork for the AGM not later than 6 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Saturday – 9 October Amendments to the above motions shall be submitted no later than 4 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Saturday - 16 October The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an attachment to the Agenda of any such amendments not later than 3 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Saturday - 23 October The Secretary/Administrator must publish the voting totals by country subject to timely receipt of payment
Saturday - 30 October FINAL deadline for dues payments
Saturday – 6 November AGM 2021 – Virtual meeting - Zoom platform

The Technical Committee will meet between the original submission deadline and the revised submission deadline to determine if revisions are needed to technical submissions.  Since an EGM is anticipated for Wednesday September 22 to approve changes to the mast rules, that EGM will be immediately followed by the Technical Committee meeting. There may be a second meeting after the amendment submission deadline and before the AGM for further discussion.  The goal of these steps is to have discussion regarding the proposals and to make drafting changes as needed in advance of the AGM.  

The first deadline for the National Classes is September 18th - Motions and nominations to be proposed at the AGM shall be submitted to the Class Administrator Piret Salmistu at piret@melges24.com not less than 8 weeks (56 days) before the date of the said AGM.  As noted above this deadline has been extended by one week.

Who can submit the motions, amendments and nominations:

Motions, amendments and nominations for the AGM shall be proposed only by the Executive Committee, National Class Associations, the Technical Committee and World Sailing. If you have a proposal you wish to be considered by the AGM you should urgently make contact with your National Class Association Officers and ask them to review your proposal and submit it on your behalf by the closing date.

Submissions can be made about:

Constitution, Future Events, Class Rules, Technical issues, Regatta Regulations, General policies, Nomination of the officers. 

Two posts are open for election: Treasurer and Vice Chair Europe. See the list of Executive Committee.

Download here the Submission Form

Bids open for the future events:

World Championships – from 2025 on (2025 is Europe, 2026 is North America and so on)
European Championships – 2022 and 2024 
North American Championships –  2025

For these NCA’s interested to bid, the bid package will be sent, but the Event Regulations are available at the IM24CA website.

 

Annual General Meeting 2021

Annual General Meeting 2021