2020 International Melges 24 World Council Annual General Meeting

Virtual meeting - Zoom platform

6 am PT, 9 am ET, 2 pm UK, 3 pm CET, 4 pm EET, 1 am (Nov 8) Sydney, AUS 

IM24CA members' votes per country

AGENDA

Session 1 - 1 hour
6-7 am PT / 9-10 am ET / 2-3 pm UK / 3-4 pm CET / 4-5 pm EET / 1-2 am AEDT 8 Nov

  • Reports: marketing/communications; financial (including a vote on 2021 budget); minutes; technical/builders report 

Session 2 - 30 minutes
7-7:30 am PT / 10-10:30 am ET / 3-3:30 pm UK / 4-4:30 pm CET / 5-5:30 EET / 2-2:30 am AEDT 8 Nov

  • Class reports: All National Classes are requested to send us a National Class Report as a short summary of your 2020 activities and situation no later than November 2nd. Please send it to piret@melges24.com

Session 3 - 45 minutes
7:30-8:15 PT / 10:30-11:15 am ET / 3:30-4:15 UK / 4:30-5:15 pm CET / 5:30-6:15 EET / 2:30-3:15 am AEDT 8 Nov

  • Future events: current and proposed - World Championships – European Championships – North American Championships
    • Worlds 2021 – Charleston, USA – April 13-17 - status
    • Europeans 2021 – Europeans, SLO – September 4-11 – status
    • Worlds 2022 – Denmark – June
    • North Americans 2022 – Toronto, Canada – September
    • Worlds 2023 – San Francisco, CAL, USA (2023 is 30th Anniversary Year of Melges 24 boat) 
    • Europeans 2023 & Worlds 2024 – ITA Intention to bid

Break - 15 minutes
8:15-8:30 am PT / 11:15-11:30 am ET / 4:15-4:30 pm UK / 5:15-5:30 pm CET / 6:15-6:30 pm EET / 3:15-3:30 am AEDT 8 Nov

Session 5 - 1hr and 30 minutes or more
8:30-10 am PT / 11:30-1 pm ET / 4:30-6 pm UK / 5:30-7 pm CET / 6:30-8 pm EET / 3:30-5 am AEDT Nov 8

  • Elections of the Executive Committee - we received a submission to nominate a Treasurer that has been withdrawn and we do not currently have a candidate
  • Proposed Class Rules changes
  • Changes to the Constitution

Please note: World Sailing has ratified our Melges 24 updated Class Rules on August 6th and these have been published at World Sailing website https://www.sailing.org/28322.php along with Class Rule Changes document.

Click on tabs below to open the Agenda sections along with related documents

2020 - IM24CA AGM - Submission Form
2020 - IM24CA AGM - Voting Proxy Form
Financial
IM24CA 2021 budget 2019 2020 est.pdf
Marketing & Communication
IM24CA Marketing & Communications in 2020 - report
IM24CA Technical Committee Report 2020-2021.pdf
IM24CA Technical Committee Summary of 2020 Rule Change Submissions.pdf
MEMO of the IM24CA Open Technical Committee meeting held on September 28, 2020.pdf
MELGES 24 BUILDERS REPORT – 2020.pdf

We have had much discussion regarding the regulation passed in 2018 around coach boats.  The class approved language restricting where coach boats could go and restricting when communications from the coach boat could be made.  At the Worlds in Italy in 2019, the new language was not enforced.  As Chair, I will allow a proposal to come forward at the AGM that will correct the regulations so that this language that the class approved can be implemented properly at class sanctioned events (Worlds, European and North American Championships, and, I believe, the European Sailing Series).  The exact language and an explanation of how this will work is still under discussion and will be sent to all as soon as possible.

IM24CA - Coach and Support Boats Regulations - Nov 2020.3
2022 (2023) Melges 24 Worlds - Denmark, report from Middelfart


SUBMISSIONS

Class Rule changes submissions you'll find in this DropBox folder:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/1u9uzaiv34i27bv/AABeh_0VPSuAsS-UE9W8baHva?dl=0 

  1. CAN – C 11.7 - Crew location when racing
  2. CAN – C.11.x - Crew location when racing – addition to the Class Rules - REVISED submission
  3. USA – C.2.2. Weights – Remove Weight Rule Completely - REVISED submission
  4. Tech Comm - CR A.6 House Keeping
  5. Tech Comm - C.11.1 Boat Handling Rules
  6. Tech Comm - C.11.2 Boat Handling Rules
  7. Tech Comm - C.11.3 Boat Handling Rules
  8. Tech Comm - C.11.5 Boat Handling Rules - REVISED submission
  9. Tech Comm - C.11.6 Boat Handling Rules
  10. Tech Comm - H2 Boom

Technical Committee Summary of 2020 Rule Change Submissions

 

Submissions to change the Constitution you'll find in this DropBox folder:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ri7flbo6dlj7mtz/AADDhpeFnwkH2Lr6RGQmuHjva?dl=0 :

  1. Exec Comm - IM24CA Constitution changes for non-profit in State of CT and US
  2. Exec Comm - IM24CA Constitution changes for record keeping
  3. Exec Comm - IM24CA Constitution changes for selection of Technical Chair and Committee
  4. Exec Comm - IM24CA Constitution changes for timing of membership publication 
  5. Exec Comm - IM24CA Constitution changes for timing of NCA payments - REVISED submission
  6. Exec Comm - IM24CA Constitution - Housekeeping - Constitution with housekeeping edits
  7. Tech Comm - IM24CA Constitution - Housekeeping Constitution Change Proposals

 

In preparation for the AGM, please be aware of the following:

  • The Executive Committee has moved the following deadlines due to the late start to sailing and hence membership experienced by some NCAs: 
    • the deadline for publishing the list of IM24CA members will be two weeks prior to the AGM (October 24th) and the deadline for the payment of dues will be one week prior to the AGM (October 31st).   This will provide additional time for the NCAs to complete their list of members.

 

  • There will be an open Technical Committee meeting on Monday, September 28th at 12 pm PT / 3 pm ET / 8 pm UK / 9 pm CET / 10 pm EET /  5 am AEDT Sydney  on Zoom.  The purpose of the meeting is to review the technical proposals (see the list of Technical Committee submissions above) prior to the deadline for making revisions, October 9th, in case revisions are necessary or make sense based upon the feedback at this open meeting.  To allow time to review the proposals in advance of the meeting, they will be published today.  We would like to recommend that each NCA select one person to participate at this open Technical Committee meeting. 

 

  • Nations are asked to confirm the name of their representatives or proxies and any observers as soon as possible to assist us in planning of the meeting.  

    • If a World Council Member is unable to attend a meeting, his NCA may appoint a substitute for that meeting only. Such designations shall be in writing and received by the Treasurer/Administrator of the IM24CA prior to the meeting. Each NCA must inform the IM24CA Treasurer/Administrator of the name of their appointed World Council member or proxy substitute before the start of the AGM.

    • National Classes are also reminded that, as per Class Constitution, World Council representatives must be Full Members of the Melges 24 Class.

 
Agenda has been sent to: 

                    Honorary Member of the World Council: Mr. Buddy Melges (via Harry Melges III)

Executive Committee
Responsibility

First Name

Surname

Participating

Proxy to/for

Chair / Treasurer

Laura

GRONDIN

yes  

Vice Chairman, Europe

Miles

QUINTON

yes  

Vice Chairman, Americas 

Duncan

STAMPER

yes

 

Vice Chairman, Asia Pacific & Tech Comm Member

Kevin

NIXON

yes

for AUS

Member Europe

Michael

TARABOCHIA

yes

for SLO

Member North America

Paul Krak

ARNTSON

yes

 

Technical Committee Chair

Mike

GOZZARD

 yes

 

Technical Committee / Builder & Dealer / IM24CA Staff

       

Chief Measurer & Technical Advisor

Branko

PARUNOV

yes

 

Tech Comm Advisor

Peter

GÖCKEL

 

 

Tech Comm Member Europe

Jan SCHMIDT yes  

Championship Coordinator - Europe

David

BARTOL

yes

 

Championship Coordinator - Western Hemisphere/Asia-Pacific

John

ABEL

yes

 

IM24CA Advisor

Arto KIISKI yes  

Builder: US: Melges Performance Sailboats

Harry MELGES no  

Dealer: Melges Europe

Luisa BAMBOZZI    

Administrator & Media Coordinator

Piret

SALMISTU

yes 

 

 

National Classes - Country

First Name

Surname

Participating

Proxy to/for

Australia

Peter KENDALL no to Kevin Nixon

Austria

Michael

SCHINEIS

yes

 

Canada

Dan

BEREZIN

yes

 

Chile

Pablo

GALLYAS

 

 

Czech Republic

Tomas

MUSIL

 

 

Observer - Croatia (not official NC yet) Filip JURISIČ

yes

 

Denmark

Soren

BLUME SVENDSEN

yes

 

Observer - Denmark

Nicklaus

DEWITT FORDHAM

yes

 

Observer - Denmark Soren

LAUGESEN

yes  

Estonia

Tõnu

TÕNISTE

 

 

Finland

Tomi

HAKOLA

 

 

France

Denis

INFANTE

 

 

Germany

Michael

TARABOCHIA

yes

for SLO

Hungary

Ákos

CSOLTÓ

 

 

Italy

Andrea

RACCHELLI

yes

 

Japan

Kentaro

ISHIGURO

 

 

Netherlands

Ronald

VERAAR

 

 

Norway

Gisle 

BO

no

to Annette Haugsdal

Norway - appointed World Council member

Annette HAUGSDAL

yes

 

Slovenia

Aleš

ZUPANC

no

to Michael Tarabochia 

Sweden

Torvald

ASPLUND

 

 

Switzerland

Michael

GOOD

yes

 

Ukraine

Andriy

YANO

 

 

United Kingdom

David

PINNER

no

to Miles Quinton

United States

Megan

RATLIFF

yes

 
The important dates to note approaching to the AGM:
Friday – 14 August The date of the AGM will be notified by announcement on the IM24CA website not less than 85 days before the date of the meeting.
Friday – 11 September Motions and nominations to be proposed at the AGM shall be submitted to the International Secretary/Administrator not less than 8 weeks (56 days) before the date of the said AGM
Friday - 25 September The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an Agenda of all motions nominations and relevant paperwork for the AGM not later than 6 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Friday – 9 October Amendments to the above motions shall be submitted no later than 4 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Friday - 16 October The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an attachment to the Agenda of any such amendments not later than 3 weeks before the date of the said AGM.
Saturday – 7 November AGM 2020 – Virtual meeting - Zoom platform

 

Annual General Meeting 2020

2020 IM24CA AGM in Zoom

2020 IM24CA AGM in Zoom

2020 IM24CA AGM in Zoom

2020 IM24CA AGM in Zoom