2020 International Melges 24 World Council Annual General Meeting – Date and Venue

Dear World Council members of the International Melges 24 Class Association,

Due to the Covid-19 influenced situation in the world, the 2020 International Melges 24 Class World Council’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) will take place virtually on Zoom on Saturday, November 7.   This is an important meeting to discuss the status and future of the class as well as to discuss any proposals for changing the rules and regulations that govern the class.  All NCAs will be invited to give a short (1-2 minute) update on their year during the meeting.  A detailed agenda will be issued by September 25th.

Time: 6 am PT, 9 am ET, 2 pm UK, 3 pm CET, 4 pm EET, 1 am (Nov 8) Sydney, AUS

Duration: Maximum of 5 hours, hopefully shorter

The important dates to note approaching to the AGM:

Friday – 14 August

The date of the AGM will be notified by announcement on the IM24CA website not less than 85 days before the date of the meeting.

Friday – 11 September

Motions and nominations to be proposed at the AGM shall be submitted to the International Secretary/Administrator not less than 8 weeks (56 days) before the date of the said AGM

Friday - 25 September

The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an Agenda of all motions nominations and relevant paperwork for the AGM not later than 6 weeks before the date of the said AGM. 

Friday – 9 October

Amendments to the above motions shall be submitted no later than 4 weeks before the date of the said AGM.

Friday - 16 October

The Secretary/Administrator shall distribute an attachment to the Agenda of any such amendments not later than 3 weeks before the date of the said AGM.

Saturday – 7 November

AGM 2020 – Zoom online

 

The Technical Committee will meet between the original submission deadline and the revised submission deadline to determine if revisions are needed to technical submissions.  All are welcome to attend the meeting and the date/time of the meeting will be posted approximately 30 days prior to the meeting.  There may be a second meeting after the revised submission deadline and before the AGM for further discussion.  The goal of these steps is to have discussion regarding the proposals and to make drafting changes as needed in advance of the AGM.   

Please note: World Sailing has ratified our Melges 24 updated Class Rules on August 6th and these have been published at World Sailing website https://www.sailing.org/28322.php along with Class Rule Changes document.

The first deadline for the National Classes is September 11th - Motions and nominations to be proposed at the AGM shall be submitted to the Class Administrator Piret Salmistu at piret@melges24.com not less than 8 weeks (56 days) before the date of the said AGM. 

Who can submit the motions, amendments and nominations:

Motions, amendments and nominations for the AGM shall be proposed only by the Executive Committee, National Class Associations, the Technical Committee and World Sailing. If you have a proposal you wish to be considered by the AGM you should urgently make contact with your National Class Association Officers and ask them to review your proposal and submit it on your behalf by the closing date.

Submissions can be made about:

Constitution, Future Events, Class Rules, Technical issues, Regatta Regulations, General policies, Nomination of the officers. The only post open for the elections is Treasurer since Laura Grondin is filling two positions currently and her term as Treasurer expires this year. See the list of Executive Committee.

Download here the Submission Form

Bids open for the future events:

World Championships – from 2023 on (2023 is the 30th Anniversary Year of Melges 24 boat)
European Championships – from 2022 on 
North American Championships – from 2023 on

For these NCA’s interested to bid, the bid package will be sent, but the Event Regulations are available at the IM24CA website.

Melges 24 World