Team Kaito Win First Australian Nationals in Geelong

From the Australian Melges 24 Class Association - Fantastic day for racing, winds from the SW at 14-18 knots. In Race six of the Melges 24 National Titles AUS 19 'Matilda" was the leading yacht around every mark, with AUS 746 "No Comment" hot on their stern. 'No Comment' went on to a thrilling finish in first place with only a boat length in it. "Matilda" second, "Vitesse" third and series leading yacht "Kaito" in fourth place.

Prior to the seventh race things went pear shaped for "Vitesse" when they tore the spinnaker making them late for the start.

A constant 15 knot breeze provided excellent conditions for the tussle to continue from the previous race between "Matilda" and "No Comment". This time "Matilda" took it on to win the final race with "No Comment" second, "Kaito" third. Anarchy had a fantastic spinnaker run and rolled "Vitesse" to take fourth place, with "TTFN" retiring.

The Melges 24's true to the One Design racing formula kept us guessing until the series final results were issued.


First place in the series went to "Kaito" Heath Townsend GBYC AUS709, second "Matilda" Bruce Leslie RQYS AUS19, third "No Comment" Mark Bernardinis RPAYC AUS746, fourth "Vitesse" David Farrimond AUS710, fifth "Anarchy" John Hall SYC AUS668, sixth "TTFN" Philip Chapman AUS215 MYC

Congratulations to all the Melges 24's owners, crews and to Skandia Race Week for providing us with such a nail biting inaugural Melges 24 National Championships.