Buddy Melges Inducted Into ISAF Sailing Hall Of Fame

November 16, 2015 - Sanya, China - In 2007 the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) celebrated its centenary and to mark the occasion, introduced a Hall of Fame. Olin Stephens, Dame Ellen Macarthur, Paul Elvström, Barbara Kendall, Eric Tabarly and Sir Robin Knox-Johnston were all inducted in the first instance. They have been joined by seven new inspirational sailors who have been honoured at the 2015 Annual Conference.

These individuals have made a significant impact on the water, but also with their remarkable attitudes and dedication to sailing whilst onshore. They have all in their own way helped shape the sport we enjoy today.

In addition to Buddy, other inductees include Dennis Conner, Alessandra Sensini, Harold Vanderbilt, Sir Peter Blake, Valentin Mankin and Torben Grael.

Buddy Melges

Extract from the ISAF Press Release:

Buddy Melges

The Melges name has had a massive impact on modern sailing particularly with the family's boat building company. 

Buddy has achieved competitive greatness in areas as diverse as Olympic Sailing (Bronze medal in 1964 in the Flying Dutchman and a Gold medal in 1972 in the Soling), the America's Cup (Oldest helmsman to win at 62 years), numerous World Championship victories in the Star and 5.5 Meter classes and finally as an Ice Boat Champion.

His contribution in being an engaged and fierce competitor across multiple classes as well as his ongoing development in boat design have helped shape sailing as it is today.

Read The Complete Press Release From ISAF - November 13, 2015
Visit ISAF’s Hall of Fame Website

Sailors will be inducted into the Hall of Fame every third year of the Executive Committee's tenure. The next induction will be in 2019.